Film Reviews · Uncategorized

The Danish Girl- Review

Tonight my friend Mark and I went to see The Danish Girl and I have to say it went above and beyond my expectations!

The story follows painter Einar Wegener (Eddie Redmayne) who with the support of wife Gerda (Alicia Vikander) discovers that he is a transgender and prepares to undergo one of the first sex change operations.

While watching this film I personally felt like I was on Einars’ journey with her as she became Lili. The film shows a interesting portrayal of relationships and is a real thought provoker. I personally adored the relationship between Lili and Gerda, it was beautiful and tender; something I believe we should all strive for in our relationships.

Wonderfully acted and though I’m aware of the controversy surrounding the casting of a man to play Lili I believe that her story was handled with the utmost respect and admiration. I cannot imagine what it feels like to be trapped in the wrong body and have never claimed to understand what transgenders go through but this film made me so grateful that I am happy within myself and I’m terribly sorry for anyone who can’t say the same thing. On the off chance that someone reading this feels that way I beg you to talk to someone you trust.

I am unashamed to say that I cried throughout the film, afterwards while hidden in the cinema bathroom and for the entire bus journey home.

This film was gorgeous and I cannot recommend it enough. I will never look at a scarf the same way after seeing this film.

5/5 stars!

Hope you enjoyed this review even if it isn’t book related, I can’t say if I will be doing more film reviews but I may do some more non-bookish posts.

Thanks For Reading, I’ll try to post a new blog every Monday.

Lady Sam xx

Leave a Reply

