Book related · Uncategorized

January Wrap Up

Hello Again!

For this blog post I’ve decided to tell you all about the books I read in January, which to be honest wasn’t a lot (Oops), Being back in college definitely takes a chunk of your reading time.

A Little In Love!

IMG_1118

The first book I read this year was “A Little in Love” by Susan Fletcher which I really enjoyed, This book is very interesting re-telling of Les Mis from Eponines’ point of view. You can find a full review here: https://booksbeforeboy.wordpress.com/2016/01/04/a-little-in-love-review/

I gave this book 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

 

The Secret Garden!

A1h5yrVJ+IL

Next I went back to my childhood by reading “The Secret Garden” by Francesca Hodgsen Burnett, which was my secret Santa present this year. This was one of my favourite books as a child and even though I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as when I was younger I really enjoyed re living my youth in this book. Which does contain a beautiful story and I would still recommend it.

I gave this book 5/5 stars on goodreads (Though some of those stars were out of loyalty)

 

The Storied Life Of A.J Fikry.

23805846_zpsoodsyd6e

This is still one of my absolute favourite books and I’m sure my friends are sick of hearing me rave about it (I actually bought a few copies for friends and family over Christmas!) Everyone needs to read this book. I don’t want to hype it up this much (Too Late) so if your interested you can read my full review here :  https://booksbeforeboy.wordpress.com/2016/01/23/the-storied-life-of-a-j-fikry-review/

I, of course gave this book 5/5 stars.

 

The last three books I read this year were actually plays, two of which I had to read for college but they still count right? I’m saying yes.

The first play I read was “The Chairs” by  Eugène Ionesco. Which although it had some nice moments overall I just found it nonsensical and a little bit irritating . I gave this play 3/5 stars.

images

Next I read “Anne of Green Gables: The musical” by Norman Campbell. This play is based on the book by L.M Montgomery and I was surprised to say I actually enjoyed it though I do think it would be more suitable for a younger audience.  I also gave this play 3/5 stars.

67460a

Finally I read “Six characters in search of an author” by Luigi Pirandello, which is comical in some areas but overall I didn’t enjoy this play I found it too drawn out and boring. I gave this play 2/5 stars.

images (1)

There we go that was my reading for this month. What did you guys read??

Thanks so much for reading,

LadySamxx.

 

Leave a Reply

