Adventures! · Book related · Uncategorized

Summer Adventures #3-Cursed Child Book Launch

Hello Again!

So on Sunday myself and some friends headed to our local Waterstones as they were having a special launch for the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Now I was super excited for this because I’ve never been to one of the launches for Harry Potter or in fact any book. I came to the Harry Potter fandom really late, I know that when I started reading the first book the fifth film was just coming into the cinemas so I missed all the exciting midnight book launches and such.

Determined not to miss another we arrived super early to join the queue, which I am so glad we did because  this the queue was insane! Like I knew it would be a big deal but I wasn’t expecting that big a crowd, when we left the store at about 1pm people were still joining on to the end of the queue.

DSCF0018

It also made me smile to see how many young kids there were at this! Like some of those children can’t have been older than 6 or 7. (There was even a little baby dressed as harry potter at the colouring table and it was the most adorable thing ever). It was just nice to see how this book is still so strong throughout the next generations, I just find it so cool like I can’t think of any other book franchise especially like a children’s book as such that has remained alive through generation after generation. It’s amazing.

DSCF0016

Praise has too be given to Waterstones, they put together an amazing event! When you walked in you were given a welcome letter and a timetable of all the mini events that were taking place that you could  read while you were in the queue to buy your copy of the book. (Little bit miffed that I didn’t get the bookmark though, there was one in all my friends bags? Haha just my luck )

Different areas of the bookstore where decorated into the different house colours with a different event in each. Slytherin was were you collected your ‘school books’, In Gryffindor there was refreshments, a photo-booth and most importantly colouring!! (Shoutout to Paul for colouring with me so I didn’t look ridiculous with the kids.) In Ravenclaw we had quizzes and finally Hufflepuff was were the potions lesson was held. There were wands floating around that you could play with and a lot of the staff had even dressed up for the occasion. Also the kids without a doubt killed the cosplay competition they looked incredible, There was a moaning Myrtle, Lucius Malfoy, Tons of Harrys and Lunas it was amazing!

I had an absolutely fantastic time at the launch and I cannot wait to read this book!!

DSCF0053

Thanks so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed it!

Let me know what you think!

LadySamxx

Leave a Reply

