Book related · Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Book Review – CONTAINS SPOILERS!

Hello Again!

So I have absolutely devoured this book and so I thought I might as well review this book while the thoughts were fresh in my head! *I wrote this review seconds after finishing the book but I’ve decided to wait to upload so that more people have had the chance to finish it.*

First of all I really really enjoyed the fact that it was written in script, As I’m in a theatre degree I have to read plays a lot so I’m used to it but I’m interested to hear how people who wouldn’t normally read plays found it?

From the second I opened the first page I was completely transported back into the world. Utterly entranced. I could have easily gobbled this entire book in one sitting but I forced myself to stop and take breaks so I could savour the book.

This book picks up right where the deathly hallows left off on platform nine and three-quarters and we follow the children on their way to Hogwarts. I remember reading the deathly hallows and thinking that of course Albus wouldn’t be sorted into Slytherin but I was wrong and he joins his new friend Scorpius in Slytherin. I love that the Slytherins are the heroes of this story.

The character of Scorpius was brilliant, awkward and funny and just a really kindhearted guy. He’s become one of my favourite characters in this universe, though I did love re-visiting the old favourites-but I’ll get back to that.

I loved how the explored the parent-son relationship between Harry and Albus as well as Draco and Scorpius. I like that Albus was a character who didn’t seem to enjoy the glory of having his fathers surname and it was interesting that the naming issue was explored more.  I like that Harry struggled with being a parent and connecting with his child which then became something himself and Draco bonded over.

It was great to see a softer, more open-minded side of Draco and I love that he seemed to become part of the squad almost as the story unravelled. I also like that Harry and Ginny along with Ron and Hermione had marital issues, That it wasn’t just some big happily ever after they had. The fact that Ron was more of a stay at home dad and ran the joke shop on the side made me really happy, that they all didn’t go into some huge careers I thought was a great story choice.

I’ve just realized that I haven’t even mentioned the plot yet so I’ll do that now. Albus and Scorpius come up with a plan to go back in time and save Cedric Diggory’s life.  ( an interesting choice I thought, Personally if I was given the choice to chose someone from the Harry Potter Universe Cedric would be very low down on my list.) So they team up with Delphi to go back in time and create all sorts of disasters which I won’t get into otherwise we’ll be here for days.  I didn’t really know where the story was going to go but I loved visiting all the different Alternative Universes particularly the one in which Voldemort survives not Harry.

As soon as I saw that Snape was alive in this universe I turned to my mum and said: “He’s gonna die again isn’t he?” It makes me really happy to see that in a world where darkness won Snape still turned his back on Voldemort and rebelled against Ron and Hermione. This world contained plenty of heartbreaking moments and I think is my favourite chapter of the book.

Among all this chaos rumours have been circulating that Voldemort had a child and so just when everyone thinks things are okay, It turns out we have a much bigger problem to battle…Delphi, Delphi turns out to be the daughter of Voldemort and while I didn’t love her as a character I do like that she wasn’t portrayed as a completely evil character. I wish she was explored better, I personally am confused about who raised her? Why did Voldemort not know about her? Why was she hidden? etc..

Another scene I really enjoyed was the argument between Harry and Dumbledore, I really appreciated this scene because I felt like a lot of those things needed to be said and it brought a nice closure to the Harry/Dumbledore relationship.  It was also great to see the bad-ass side of McGonagall make a comeback.

In summary, This story contained a perfect balance of humour, heartbreak and heartwarming moments. I feel like the majority of the characters received a good development and characterization. I loved revisiting the characters and the different worlds and eras even though I didn’t feel like some of the time jumps were clear enough. I thought the whole story was clever and unexpected and overall I just loved it! It’s a book I can definitely see myself reading, again and again, a perfect addition to the Harry Potter series in my opinion. I’d really like to see how it’s staged, because the actors choice of performance may change certain elements of the book.

And that about wraps this up, I hope you enjoyed reading and I’d love to hear what you thought of this book.

LadySamxx

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Book Review – CONTAINS SPOILERS!

Leave a Reply

